Sign in or register

If you want to take part in the discussions, sign in or apply for membership below!

Sign In with Facebook Sign In with Google Sign In with OpenID

In this Discussion

Buffering cache is filled to soon

edited September 2016 in PROBOX2 EX+ / Z
Hi,
I am using a Probox2 EX+ running Kodi latest version. Some movies stream very nicely others take forever to load and then run about 6 minutes then starts buffering for 4 to 6 minutes when it comes back to the movie a little note at the bottom say's cache is full before buffering was completed. Is this something that can be eliminated? If so how. I am new to this type of viewing but at ease with trying things new. So far I am pleased with my unit but would like to know more about apps, programming and improving performance. I use this exclusively for TV viewing and would also like to save some movies to a WD external usb drive 1 tetra byte. Any direction would be appreciated. 

Comments

• Well, that answers my question as to how Kodi v16 Jarvis would run on the Probox.  I don't have the EX+ but I'm not able to run any Kodi program higher than 14.2 without the same issues on my Probox2 EX.  For what you're using the box for, 14.2 should be fine.  I would side load that.  
  • edited March 2016
    Hi Coxohl,

I have both boxes and haven't suffered from buffering.
    Jerm is right though, i would suggest to remove kodi and sideload 14.2 and do not update it after that ;)

but, before you do, please share us your setup, as buffering has many other rootcauses:
    do you use wifi or lan?
    do you stream from your NAS or internet
    when does buffering occur playing what kind of file?
    Are you using apps (genesis, velocity, others) in kodi?

let us know as Jerm and I are quite advanced on how the get the best of your box.

the more info you provide, the better we are able to point you in the right direction, ok?

hoping to hear from you soon,

cheers, Marco
  • Marco,